California: New Is Not Necessarily Improved

Via Karen Karacsony at American Thinker;

Meg Whitman would like to build a new California. Not me. If I had to choose, I’d opt not to build a new California, but rather to restore the “old California.” That is, I’d revive the California Republic of Old, when men married women, when murderous thugs were given the noose rather than probation, and when babies in utero were kept safe from abortion practitioners. The regenerate California I have in mind is a place where a man’s handshake is as binding as a written contract, where chastity is given a place of honor, and where citizens look to God and to their neighbors in times of trouble rather than to the Welfare State.

I assume that stating my preference for an old California rather than a new one will lead some to think of me as a pie-in-the-sky traditionalist at best and an obscurant at worst. Before dismissing me as a mere reactionary, however, I ask that you consider the hypothesis that “building a new California” is not only a misguided endeavor, but also one that will further undermine the individual liberties of the people of California.

C.S. Lewis once said,

We all want progress. But progress means getting nearer to the place where you want to be. And if you have taken a wrong turning, then to go forward does not get you any nearer. If you are on the wrong road, progress means doing an about-turn and walking back to the right road; and in that case the man who turns back soonest is the most progressive man.

I think we can agree that California has taken a wrong turn. She is rolling down the wrong road. If we are to salvage our great state, we must go back. Going back, I believe, is the fastest way forward.

More-

I think in this case, an “Old California” that’s the way things were when they were more fiscally sound would be a “New California”, especially with the attention spans around here. And think about something else; a lot of today’s voters grew up in the era of “just use a credit card”, overspending is nothing at all unusual. Fiscal responsibility wouldn’t be “old fashioned”, but “New and Improved”.

About Erick Brockway

Living in Camarillo, CA, about 45 miles North of LA. I have a son, and two daughters. Working two jobs (welcome to California life), plus a (now retired) reservist in the US Navy Seabees so life is busy!
This entry was posted in California Politics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to California: New Is Not Necessarily Improved

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention California: New Is Not Necessarily Improved « California TCOT -- Topsy.com

Comments are closed.