Still wasting time talking about Steven Colbert? Let’s talk about who invited him; Zoe Lofgren (D CA-16 San Jose)

Via Brad Blakeman;

Comedy Central’s Stephen Colbert appeared and “testified,” Friday before the House Judiciary Subcommittee on Immigration. The comedian appeared as an “expert” witness on the plight of migrant farm workers at the express invitation of the subcommittee’s chairwoman, Rep. Zoe Lofgren (D-Calif.).

His “testimony’ was an embarrassment to himself, his country, the Congress and the entire issue of immigration reform. It amounted to nothing more than a bad comedic monologue.

Although I find Colbert funny at times on Comedy Central, I found nothing entertaining about his “performance” before Congress this week.

Democrats have a long history of a cult-like attraction and fascination with Hollywood celebrities. It is really quite pitiful. But this latest brush with “celebrity” is beyond the pale.

There is a big difference between courting celebrities to attend political fundraisers and rallies and allowing celebrities to mock government at the invitation of politicians charged with solving the nation’s problems — not creating Congressional carnival sideshows.

More-


Two viable alternates exist in the 16th District, Edward Gonzalez (L), and Dan Sahagun (R).

On Lofgren, Gonzalez posts;

San Jose, CA, USA — 24 September 2010 – Today’s media event in which Stephen Colbert, invited by Zoe Lofgren, produced nonsensical remarks for a Congressional Committee was definitely a joke according to Congressional candidate Edward Gonzalez.

“Colbert’s presence was a big publicity stunt that did nothing to advance understanding of the immigration issue. Zoe Lofgren obviously thinks our immigration problems are a laughing matter.”

Zoe Lofgren chaired the House Judiciary Committee’s Subcommittee on Immigration, Citizenship, Refugees, Border Security, and International Law which produced this news making stunt today. Zoe Lofgren is a 15 year incumbent Representative in Congress.

According to Edward, Colbert’s testimony shed no light on the situation of migrant farm workers who are being used as props by politicians who promise what they have no intention of delivering.

“Incumbent politicians like Lofgren treat these issues as media opportunities without any concern for the possibility that there is a better way to solve the immigration problem,” says Edward.

More-

Dan Sahagun meanwhile posts on his site;

Dan Sahagun

She has also dropped the ball on her responsibilities to the people of Congressional District 16 – the people of San Jose, Morgan Hill, and across the South Bay. She has voted time and time again to punish working families of all income levels – from the farm worker to the business executive.

* Voted time and again to raise taxes and increase regulations across the board, hurting families and
* businesses of all sizes.
* Voted to KEEP the Alternative Minimum Tax that punishes the Middle Class
* Voted for the Obamacare Bill which places onerous new costs on businesses, costing jobs, driving up
* healthcare costs and intruding into our lives
* Supports Cap and Trade and other excessive environmental regulations that will cost the economy
* hundreds of billions of dollars, and cost millions of Americans their jobs

At every turn, Lofgren has proven herself to be hostile to business, hostile to working families, hostile to the
innovation that has made Silicon Valley the marvel of the world – and now, by inviting a comedian to provide
testimony on critical issues proves that she’s woefully out of touch.

I’ve been a farm worker, and I’m a military veteran who has spent his adult life working in the high-tech
economy here in Silicon Valley. I understand what it will take to turn things around. That’s why I’m running
against Zoe Lofgren as the Republican Candidate in District 16. We face serious issues, and need serious
solutions – not jokes.

More-

On the Edward Gonzalez Twitter page, he claims to be a social liberal but a fiscal conservative while Dan Sahagun doesn’t describe himself well on his Twitter page, but elsewhere he describes his American Journey as beginning as a naturalized U.S. Citizen;

I am the living embodiment of the American Dream. I didn’t set out for this to happen, but it did. You can’t tell me that this isn’t the nation of opportunity and freedom. I’ve lived long enough, worked hard enough and traveled far enough to tell you that I know it is true from my first hand knowledge.

You see, I am a naturalized U.S. Citizen born in poverty on a farm in Ocotlan, Jalisco, Mexico. My family, my mother Paula Ramirez Sahagun, father Santos Carrillo Sahagun and sisters Rose, Angela and Teresa, and I entered the United States legally in 1950 and settled in Salinas. My youngest sister Gloria was born later in Salinas. My parents just wanted us to grow up to have a better life. Nothing more. That was their American Dream.

He’s a former US Marine and a business owner;

I proudly served in the U.S. Marine Corps from 1966 to 1969. After Boot Camp and electronics training, I was assigned to a Marine Tactical Data Systems in a Marine Air Control squadron in the Marine Air Wing In Santa Ana and in 29 Palms. I worked on maintenance of advanced electronic communications equipment including cryptographic equipment and held a top secret clearance while in the Marines. I also earned my private pilot’s license there in my spare time.

I have worked in several Silicon Valley electronics companies and have owned a business. I’ve been a worker and I’ve been the boss. I retired from Cadence as a Vice President of Customer Services. As a kid, I worked in the strawberry and lettuce fields outside of Salinas. From the fields to Vice President of an international corporation is the embodiment of the American Dream.

I have lived in Europe, and worked Latin America, Asia and Australia as well as the U.S and Canada. I’ve seen the good and the not so good internationally — and if I didn’t already know that the US is an amazing place, my experiences overseas would have quickly convinced me.

For you business people, let put put it this way: I’ve had to make payroll on Friday when it hurt and I’ve had to lay off good workers because times were hard. I’ve been there, done that, and I’ve got the scars to prove it.

I have to go with the conservative in the race, Dan Sahagun. Give him some love.

Crossposted

About Erick Brockway

Living in Camarillo, CA, about 45 miles North of LA. I have a son, and two daughters. Working two jobs (welcome to California life), plus a (now retired) reservist in the US Navy Seabees so life is busy!
This entry was posted in California Politics and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Still wasting time talking about Steven Colbert? Let’s talk about who invited him; Zoe Lofgren (D CA-16 San Jose)

  1. Pingback: Chuck DeVore endorses Dan Sahagun (R-Cand CA-17) vs. Zoe Lofgren (D) | RedState

  2. Pingback: Chuck DeVore endorses Dan Sahagun (R-Cand CA-17) vs. Zoe Lofgren (D) « California TCOT

  3. Pingback: Are Democrats really that out of touch? North Capitol Street

Comments are closed.